Senior SEND Assessment & Review Officer

Location
Greenwich, London (Greater)
Salary
£39.774 - £42.684
Posted
02 Sep 2019
Closes
29 Sep 2019
Ref
REC/19/00488
Job role
Officer
Contract Type
Full time

In Royal Greenwich, we continue to invest in meeting the needs of children and young people with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities.  We have created a dynamic structure across the service area with roles to enable us to support aspirations, be person centred and focus on outcomes.

We are looking for a range of enthusiastic, vibrant and creative individuals with the skills and experience to help us in our ambitions.

You will be joining a well-resourced SEND Assessment & Review Service that has an excellent relationships and partnerships established with schools, particularly SENCos; health colleagues, families and our parent carer forum.

If you are as passionate as we are about making a difference to children and young people with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities – and have the skills and experience we are looking for – then please come and join us!

Royal Greenwich has a lot to offer – a rich cultural heritage and a diverse and vibrant community – as well as good sporting facilities, affordable housing and great transport / road links.

The roles we have available are: 

Senior SEND Assessment & Review Officer – PO4

Task and Interview will be on Monday 7 October 2019

SEND Assessment & Review Officer – PO2

Task and Interview will be on Thursday 10 October 2019

SEND Assessment & Review Travel Assistance Officer – PO2

Task and Interview will be on Wednesday 9 October 2019

For these roles – we are looking for people with the right knowledge and experience, who can work under pressure, build and maintain good relationships with parents, children and young people to ensure that they can co-produce their plans.  You will need to be able to work closely with schools and/or colleges and other partners to ensure a person-centred focus.  You will need to hold schools and colleges to account where necessary and challenge partners to be ambitious for children and young people.  You will also need to have knowledge of the Children and Families Act and SEND Code of Practice

For further information about the posts please call

Di Osbourne

Head of SEND Assessment & Review

020 8921 3350 or diane.osbourne@royalgreenwich.gov.uk

Closing date for all posts is midnight 29 September 2019

Shortlisting: Tuesday 1 October 2019

Interview: Monday 7 October 2019

 

Royal Borough of Greenwich is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children, young people and vulnerable adults and expects all staff to share this commitment. Any roles which involve working with children, young people or vulnerable adults, or roles in which the duties will involve access to sensitive information relating to children, young people or vulnerable adults, the Royal Borough will take up references prior to interview. You should provide details of referees including your current and previous employers, covering the last 5 years. Candidates can request for us not to send a reference request to their current employer prior to interview by emailing us at recruitment@royalgreenwich.gov.uk. As part of our Safer Recruitment Policy, a full employment history is also required for this role. Please provide a full employment history, together with a satisfactory written explanation of any gaps in employment. Unless otherwise stated, a Basic DBS check will be undertaken as part of the pre-employment checks for successful candidates.

This role requires an Enhanced DBS. (This post is exempt from the Rehabilitation of Offenders Act,1974)

All vacancies close at midnight unless otherwise stated

Each application is scored according to how well the supporting statement addresses each point on the Person Specification for the role. Candidates will be short-listed for interview on the extent to which they meet the specific points within the Person Specification. The Person Specification is supplied with the job advert. When completing your application, please use the supporting statement section to tell us how you meet each of the points on the Person Specification. We need to have this information in order to consider your application. If you have a disability and are unable to meet some of the job requirements specifically because of your disability, please address this in your application. If you meet all the other criteria, you will be shortlisted and we will explore jointly with you if there are ways in which the job can be changed to enable you to meet the requirements.,